News

House Vote on PAS Bill Happening this Friday

Posted on

This Friday, March 1st, the House Health and Government Operations and Judiciary Committees are scheduled to hold a joint vote on the proposed physician-assisted suicide legislation – House Bill 399. If the bill secures enough votes to pass out of Committee, it will be up for a vote before the entire House of Delegates as soon as next week.

We need your help now more than ever. So far, your efforts have helped the coalition lay the groundwork for defeating this dangerous legislation. Now, we need to make sure all of the Delegates who are members of these two Committees hear from as many people as possible on why exactly physician-assisted suicide should not be legalized.

We know why this legislation cannot pass: there are no safeguards that can truly protect against the coercion and abuse of vulnerable populations. There is no legislative solution to the fact that doctors cannot accurately predict a 6 month terminal prognosis. There is no way to address the fact that patients in states where this practice is legal are requesting the lethal drugs because they feel like they are a burden on their family, not because they are in pain. Critically, we know that dangerous prescription drugs can end up on the street, and this could put gasoline on that already blazing fire.

But we need to make sure the members of House Health and Government Operations and Judiciary Committees know these serious flaws too.

Before the scheduled vote on Friday, please call and email the Committee members who are listed below. There is no more effective way to influence legislation than to contact elected officials directly. So, please respectfully ask them to oppose House Bill 399 and vote NO on Friday.

HOUSE HEALTH AND GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS COMMITTEE

Delegate Shane Pendergrass – District 13 (Committee Chairwoman & Lead Sponsor of HB 399)
410-841-3139 | shane.pendergrass@house.state.md.us

Delegate Joseline Pena- Melnyk – District 21 (Vice Chairwoman)
410-841-3502 | joseline.pena.melnyk@house.state.md.us

Delegate Heather Bagnall – District 33
410-841-3406 | heather.bagnall@house.state.md.us

Delegate Erek Barron – District 24
410-841-3692 | Erek.Barron@house.state.md.us

Delegate Harry Bhandari – District 7
410-841-3526 | harry.bhandari@house.state.md.us

Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr. – District 18
410-841-3638 | alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

Delegate Nick Charles – District 25
410-841-3707 | nick.charles@house.state.md.us

Delegate Brian Chisolm – District 31B
410- 841-3206 | brian.chisholm@house.state.md.us

Delegate Bonnie Cullison – District 19
410-841-3883 | bonnie.cullison@house.state.md.us

Delegate Terri Hill – District 12
410-841-3378 | Terri.Hill@house.state.md.us

Delegate Steve Johnson – District 34A
410-841-3280 | steve.johnson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Ariana Kelly – District 16
410-841-3642 | ariana.kelly@house.state.md.us

Delegate Ken Kerr – District 3B
410-841-3240 | ken.kerr@house.state.md.us

Delegate Nic Kipke – District 31B
410-841-3421 | nicholaus.kipke@house.state.md.us

Delegate Susan Krebs – District 5
410-841-3200 | susan.krebs@house.state.md.us

Delegate Robbyn Lewis – District 46
410-841-3772| robbyn.lewis@house.state.md.us

Delegate Matt Morgan – District 29A
410-841-3170 | Matt.Morgan@house.state.md.us

Delegate Sandy Rosenberg – District 41
410-841-3297 | samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

Delegate Sid Saab – District 33
410-841-3551 | Sid.Saab@house.state.md.us

Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes – District 37A
410-841-3427 | Sheree.Sample.Hughes@house.state.md.us

Delegate Kathy Szeliga – District 7
410-841-3698 | kathy.szeliga@house.state.md.us

Delegate Karen Lewis- Young – District 3A
410-841-3436 | Karen.Young@house.state.md.us

HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Delegate Luke Clippinger – District 46 (Committee Chairman)
410-841-3488| luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us

Delegate Vanessa Atterbeary – District 13 (Vice Chairwoman)
410-841-3471| Vanessa.Atterbeary@house.state.md.us

Delegate Curt Anderson – District 43
410-841-3291 | curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Lauren Arikan – District 7
410-841-3334 | lauren.arikan@house.state.md.us

Delegate Sandy Bartlett – District 32
410-841-3370 | sandy.bartlett@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jon Cardin – District 11
410-841-3054 | jon.cardin@house.state.md.us

Delegate Frank Conaway – District 40
410-841-3189 | frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

Delegate Daniel Cox- District 4
410-841-3288 | dan.cox@house.state.md.us

Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield – District 19
410-841-3485 | charlotte.crutchfield@house.state.md.us

Delegate Debra Davis – District 28
410-841-3337 | debra.davis@house.state.md.us

Delegate Wanika Fisher – District 47B
410-841-3340 | wanika.fisher@house.state.md.us

Delegate Robin Grammer – District 6
410-841-3298 | Robin.Grammer@house.state.md.us

Delegate Wayne Hartman – District 38C
410-841-3356 | wayne.hartman@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jazz Lewis – District 24 
410-841-3691 | jazz.lewis@house.state.md.us

Delegate Lesley Lopez – District 39
410-841-3021 | lesley.lopez@house.state.md.us

Delegate Michael Malone – District 33
410-841-3510 | Michael.Malone@house.state.md.us

Delegate Susan McComas – District 34B
410-841-3272 | susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

Delegate David Moon – District 20
410-841-3474 | David.Moon@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jesse Pippy – District 4
410-841-3118 | jesse.pippy@house.state.md.us

Delegate Emily Shetty – District 18
410-841-3181 | emily.shetty@house.state.md.us

Delegate Charles Sydnor – District 44B
410-841-3802 | Charles.Sydnor@house.state.md.us

Delegate Ron Watson – District 23B
410-841-3448 | ron.watson@house.state.md.us

Stay Informed

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Connect With us

@StopPASMaryland